top of page

2024 House Preservation Award

HGAC House award 2024.jpg

The 2024 HGAC House Preservation Award winner is Michael Schen for his stunning home located at 113 Lincoln Way West, in New Oxford Borough.


The House Preservation Award Committee felt that Schen’s house showcased everything they were looking for in a house award winner, which included preserving his 1874 house inside and out, restoring what was already there (moldings, floors, doors, windows, ceilings, etc.), and repurposing what couldn’t be saved to use elsewhere in the house.  Through many years of effort and lots of planning, Schen’s house today showcases what hard work and determination can achieve.


Many thanks to the members of the House Preservation Award Committee for their help in choosing our 2024 winner.  Committee members involved in the process this year were Doug Cooke, Richard Mancini, Deb Novotny, Bill Braun and Kendra Debany (Chair).

Awarding Beauty, Value in Architectural History

Congratulations to HGAC’s 2022 House Preservation Award winners – Jeff and Stephanie Shaara for their loving restoration of the 1900 house “Red Patch” on West Confederate Avenue. The award was presented to the Shaaras at HGAC’s annual meeting on May 25.

The house was built by Union Brevet Major General Charles H.T. Collis who commanded the 114th Pennsylvania Volunteers. Construction began in 1898, based on a design of a house in Somerville, NJ. The house was completed in 1900, and Collis died in 1902. The name “Red Patch” comes from the symbol of the First Division of the Union 3rd Corps in which Collis served.

HGAC first presented its coveted House Preservation Award in 1985. Award recipients receive a numbered brass recognition plaque.


Dedicated property owners who believe, like HGAC believes, that there is beauty and value in architectural history, have invested thousands of hours of hard work into preserving the past. These awards are richly deserved.


It is hoped that the annual HGAC House Preservation Award might inspire other owners of historic properties with similar values, to embark on the admittedly challenging task of preservation and restoration of historic structures in Adams County, Pennsylvania.

The House Preservation Award Committee is composed of the following members:  Kendra Debany (Chair), Dean Norwich (Past Chair), Doug Cooke, Deb Novotny, Stan McGee, Richard Mancini, Bill Braun and Michele Sharrah.

Below: At the presentation of  HGAC's 2022 House Award, from left to right, Red Patch owners Jeff  and Stephanie Shaara, HGAC House Preservation Award Committee Chair Kendra Debany and HGAC President Keith Schultz.

Shaaras Award at Annual meeeting_edited.jpg
Award Logo.jpg
red patch house_edited_edited.jpg
Past House Preservation Award Recipients
HGAC logo.jpg
bottom of page